Loading Events

« All Events

Traditions and Change: Book Club for Educators

October 16 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

$25
Join us virtually to delve into discussions with speakers (and sometimes authors!) from various world area Title VI National Resource Centers to learn resources and strategies how to use these award-winning books in your classroom.
Registration includes copies of each book which will be mailed to you. (Book should be read before its featured session. )
These book clubs are IMMENSELY popular.
Please only register if you are going to attend virtual sessions!
NOTE: PLEASE sign up for the waitlist if the registration shows full.
Time
7pm-9 pm Eastern
6pm-8pm Central
5pm-7 pm Mountain
4pm-6pm Pacific
Dates: October 16, October 30, November 13, November 27, December 11, 2023
Registration deadline: October 1 or until full
October 16 Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. Faciliated by Awa Saidy, African Studies Initiative at the University of Minnesota and Susan Tenon, NEAFoundation Global Learning Fellow Alumni from Ohio
October 30 Finding Junie Kim by Ellen Oh. Faciliated by Nancy Hope, Asia for Educators at the Weatherhead East Asia Institute of Columbia University
November 13 Salma the Syrian Chef by Danny Ramadan and On the Trapline by David Robertson/Julie Flett. Facilitated by Kyla Sweet, the Center for Canadian American Studies at Western Washington University
November 27 Drawn Across Borders: True Stories of Human Migration by George Butler. Facilitated by Jennifer Lund, the Center for Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Michigan
December 11 Lady Murasaki’s Tale of Genji: The Manga Edition adapted by Sean Michael Wilson. Facilitated by Janet Smith, the East Asian Studies Center at Ohio State University
Fall 2023 World Area Book Club sponsoring centers include the Institute for Global Studies at the University of Minnesota/ Asia for Educators at the Weatherhead East Asia Institute of Columbia University/ the Center for Canadian American Studies at Western Washington University/ the Center for Middle Eastern and North African Studies at the University of Michigan/ the East Asian Studies Center at Ohio State University/ the African Studies Initiative at the University of Minnesota

Venue

Zoom

Organizers

University of Minnesota Institute for Global Studies
Ohio State University CSEEES
To see other featured Teaching the World events or subscribe to our calendar, please visit the full event calendar.